Preface

(Greetings, I’m Ruby. And I’m going to preface this first post by acknowledging that, yes, I’m addicted to beginning ambitious blogs and eventually losing confidence in my online personas and consequently deleting them forever. That said, this blog is a compulsory [and assessed] part of my Honours research this year and, ergo, I imagine we shall not have an issue this time around.)

David Shields writes, ‘Literary intensity is inseparable from self-indulgence and self-exposure.1’

Memoir and personal essay do not encompass merely fact, but frolic between memory, imagination and interpretation. The nonfiction writer pens their own experience of the world, and many suggest this becomes self-reflective. My project-based research will explore how, as a creative writer, I can convey another woman’s experience. Through developing a work of publishable quality, does her story become my story? Does it remain “true”? Does that matter?

This bold, wordy chunk of text is the initial research question I have proposed for my Honours project this year (2013). More to come shortly (tomorrow).

Shields, David. Reality Hunger: A Manifesto. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2010. 553. Print.

One thought on “Preface

  1. Pingback: Week One (or, Overwhelmed) | new veracities

Leave a Reply

