Lists and flippancy.

Dividing my workload into lists has been really helping my research this last fortnight, because even though there are mountains of words ahead, I can see what I have ticked off — what I have achieved, however miniscule. I am still leaving the big tasks until last, which will become a problem soon, but it’s helpful when I have only a little time (twenty minutes on the train home from work, five minutes waiting for a tram) to be able to read an article, or write a blog post, or check out the background story of a work I’ve never heard of before. NOW TO TACKLE THE BIG ONES. WRITE THOUSANDS. READ THOUSANDS. TAME THE CAPS-LOCK KEY. DRINK EARL GREY.

Leave a Reply

